One last push for Canada’s para-cyclists as they race for the World Cup jerseys

(Ottawa, ON – July 23, 2014) The 2014 UCI Para-Cycling Road World Cup continues this weekend with its final event of the series taking place in Cantimpalos, Spain. Competitors from all around the world will have a chance to earn coveted points for Paralympic Games qualification process, and top the standings to win the 2014 World Cup jerseys.

Canada has two World Cup leaders wearing the white jersey entering this final race of the World Cup season with Marie-Eve Croteau of Québec, QC and Shelley Gautier of Toronto, ON, both racing tricycles.

Marie-Claude Molnar of St-Hubert, QC is tied in second place, so good performances in Spain could make a difference and possibly bring her atop the standings to win the jersey. Molnar finished second in the time trial and third in the road race in Castiglionne, Italy, and is ready to improve her ranks this weekend.

The event also marks the first World Cup race for a few newly identified Canadian para-cyclists. The recently formed tandem of Shawna Ryan of Saskatoon, SK and pilot Audrey Lemieux of Québec, QC, who won the silver medal at the Canadian Championships, will race for the first time at the World Cup level.  Alex Hyndman, a hand cyclist from Blenheim, ON, will make his World Cup debut in Spain. In the C class, the two-time Canadian Champion Michael Sametz of Calgary, AB will test his skills against the best in the World, as will Ross Wilson of Sherwood Park, AB.

The event will serve as the last major international event prior to the World Championships, to take place in the Greenvile, South Caroline (USA) starting August 28.

The second and final event of the 2014 World Cup season takes place from July 25 to July 27.

Marie-Ève CROTEAU (T2 – Québec, QC) TT, RR
Shelley GAUTIER (T1 – Toronto, ON) TT, RR
Marie-Claude MOLNAR (C4 – St. Hubert, QC) TT, RR
Nicole CLERMONT (C5 – St. Denis de Brompton, QC) TT, RR
Myriam ADAM (H3 – St Jean-sur-Richelieu, QC) TT, RR, Team Relay
Shawna RYAN (BVI – Saskatoon, SK) TT, RR
Audrey LEMIEUX (Pilot – Montreal, QC)
Jaye MILLEY (C1 – Calgary, AB  TT, RR
Aroussen LAFLAMME (Pilot – St Augustin de Desmaures, QC) TT, RR
Alexandre CARRIER (BVI – Bromont, QC) TT, RR
Alexandre CLOUTIER (Pilot – St Antoine de Tilly) TT, RR
Daniel CHALIFOUR (BVI – Mont Laurier, QC) TT, RR
Robert LABBÉ (H2 – Quebec, QC) TT, RR, Team Relay
Charles MOREAU (H3 – Trois-Rivières, QC) TT, RR, Team Relay
Mark BEGGS (H3 – Montreal, QC) TT, RR, Team Relay
Ross WILSON (C1 – Sherwood Park, AB) TT, RR
Michael SAMETZ (C3 – Calgary, AB) TT, RR
Alex HYNDMAN (H3 – Morpeth, ON) TT, RR, Team Relay

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s